Heartthrob — Baby Kate Remixes


  • Artist: Heartthrob
  • Title: Baby Kate Remixes
  • Label: Minus
  • Catalog: MINUS48
  • Release date: March 2nd 2007


  • Baby Kate (Magda’s ‚Where’s My Baby’s Daddy‘ Mix)
  • Baby Kate (Konrad Black Remix)
  • Baby Kate (Sascha Funke Remix)
  • Baby Kate (Plastikman Remix)
  • Baby Kate (Troy Pierce’s ‚First Day Of Rehab‘ Mix)
  • Baby Kate (Adam Beyer & Jesper Dahlbäck Remix)
  • Baby Kate (Robotman Remix)

Whatever happened to Baby Kate? It’s a question that’s been asked ever since Heartthrob’s opening cut on the min2MAX compilation started causing such comprehensive damage to dancefloors last summer.
Well, she’s grown up pretty quickly after being remixed from here to oblivion by the Minus collective… and the results are truly awesome. There are seven cutting edge excursions on offer here (four on vinyl with a further three available digitally) and it’s testament to the original version that it’s inspired such a wide spectrum of interpretations to accompany you through the night.
The EP kicks off with the thousand yard stare of Magda’s beautifully crafted, percussive dub, complete with morphing, distorted motif, bouncing acid bass and subtle use of space.
Then there’s Konrad Black’s energetic signal to rave, with it’s gated hookline, phat electro bass and nu school flavor.
On the flip you’ll find the seductive tones and monotonous, rolling groove of Sascha Funke. With it’s blissed out bassline, skanking hi-hat patterns and hypnotic melody, in fact all that’s missing is the strobe and smoke machine.

The EP concludes with the fever created by Plastikman’s night dive into the track’s murkiest depths. It’s an eight minute subsonic adventure that leaves you lost at the other end of a deja vu.
For the digital community there’s the added bonus of Troy Pierce’s fractured hallucinatiion, that combines scratchy digital efx with echoes of sixties electronica circa 1965. A classy, timeless interpretation.
Robotman is also on hand, providing the remedy to Plastikman’s sickness. Setting off from the same point of origin but rising where the other falls, their mesmerising groove and snaking arrangement would keep you on the edge of your seat… if you weren’t already on the dancefloor that is.
Finally Adam Beyer & Jesper Dahlbäck take the whole thing to another level with a remix that blasts off into space, orbits the main theme of the original before breaking up deliciously on re-entry. It’s a cracking way to round off a remix package that offers real strength in depth and will surely become a permanent fixture in the more discerning record boxes over the coming months.